All About Philly

This summer, I decided I would start a blog. My first real entry: my trip to Philadelphia to visit my brother. He knows me too well. He immediately took me to all the best food places in town.

Upon arrival, he took to me to the Reading Terminal Market. Oh boy, I could get lost in that place for days. The smells, the food, the possibilities. So many different cultures breaming from its doors.

IMG_5193

We stopped at one spot to grab a bite. A roast beef sub, plain and simple. Juicy and tender beef, with a subtle layer of smoked provolone. Smoked provolone’s flavor, far different from the provolone we see on grocery shelves: more robust and beautiful flavor.

 IMG_5194

We rounded off our meal at the market with what was by far the best cookie I have had a long time. So chewy and rich. Definitely made with lard. Therefore twenty times better but also twenty times less healthy.

For dinner that evening, we went to this Belgian café called the Monk’s Café. Last summer, I studied abroad in Belgium. This experience only heightened my love of food. He knew this would be the place for me. Especially since they apparently served the best burgers in town.

He was right. Alongside one of my favorite Belgian beers, Triple Karmeliet, we enjoyed a Belgian staple: moules and frites (mussels and fries). They were to die for, in their signature sauce, even though this restaurant boosted over six different flavors. And the burger. I have had better but boy, was it a delight! And as were the frites.

IMG_5204

After dinner, we made our way through the historic district to visit a magnificent thing called the “Night Market.” The city of Philadelphia collects all of the food trucks in the city onto this four block area. It is a foodie’s dream! Aside from the long lines and huge crowds, the Night Market is a sight to see, something truly special to Philly.

IMG_1463

Although I spent more than just one day there, I will not bore you with the details. All you need to know is more good food with a mix of rain.

Don’t kill me for not having a Philly Cheesesteak while in Philly.

Leave a Reply

