BLT and Italian in Harmony

Here’s a little insight into my life: School just started. CPC’s exec board, where I as serve as the director of PR, very successfully executed an awesome recruitment. Not to mention, I just started a new job at Relay Foods. I’m already so in love with this company. More about them later.

This recipe I am about to unveil to y’all is one I have been making for six years, since I was a sophomore in high school. I even used the recipe for a senior project. In a nutshell, it is my Italian solution to the BLT, two of favorite comfort foods. With my plate as full as it is, comfort is something I have already really needed this semester.

The bacon in this scenario is pancetta, an Italian cured bacon that is saltier than our American counterpart. It is also more expensive so feel free to sub the pancetta for bacon.

The lettuce is basil, which adds such gusto of flavor to an otherwise seemingly plain palette of flavors.

To the T. I like to use cherry tomatoes to be exact. My tomatoes, this time around, are from Trader Joe’s, one of my favorites! They sell these lovely heirloom tomatoes that add a lovely mix of color to this dish.

 IMG_6370

Ingredients:

1 lb. of pasta

3 cups of cherry tomatoes, quartered

1 cup of pancetta or bacon, diced

1/4 cup of basil, chopped

1/4 cup of olive oil

1 teaspoon of garlic powder

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Cook the pasta to package directions.  Fry the pancetta, make it as crispy as you wish. Quarter the tomatoes and roughly chop the basil. Once the pancetta is fried and the pasta is cooked and drained, add the pancetta to the pasta. Make sure to keep the “sauce” moist by adding olive oil. Then add the tomatoes. Stir the mixture until the tomatoes have wilted a tad bit for a little bit less of a bite. Add the basil. Remove from heat. And enjoy!

This dish is amazing with a dry wine by its side as well as some garlic bread, which we all know I love.

  IMG_6371

Behold those colors, the colors of Italy. The flavors and textures are also reminiscent of Italy. The salty pancetta with the sweet tomatoes just balances so perfectly.

This dish is a true favorite among my friends. Such a great Italian twist on an American dish.

Leave a Reply

