Fall Break Brings Baked Goodies

When I have fall break, what do I do? Bake. A lot. It was my therapeutic realize from school because I never get the chance during the semester.

Pinterest is my favorite for recipes. All of the following came from there. It really is so great. It is far easier to sift through the results than Google. That sounds basic, yes. But it does me some good.

Pumpkin Ginger Softs

Talk about addictive. I am already the biggest fan of ginger softs. Adding pumpkin only made the situation worse. The twenty four cookie bag was finished in a day, sadly. I took a few to my favorite professor and guinea pig. She loved them. They were soft and chewy, as you would expect from ginger softs. The pop of pumpkin added such a nice touch and flavor.

 IMG_6827    IMG_6828

Cilantro Cornbread

I have never made cornbread from scratch. Without a doubt, it is one of the easiest and quickest breads to make. I added a bit of my frozen cilantro olive oil that I made a month ago. It added just the right amount of kick. It also helped add moisture to the bread.

 IMG_6861

Cheddar, Caramelized Onion and Olive Oil Bread

The bread did not come out according to the picture but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t wonderful. The thickness resembled focaccia but a bit more dense. Loaded with olive oil, the bread was moist and the combination of cheese and onion would go so nicely with a bowl of soup.

 IMG_6838    IMG_6839

Peanut Butter Bomb Cake

If you’re looking for a cake that tastes like a Reese’s Cup, this is it! No joke. It came out so moist; I am still baffled. I omitted an egg in hopes of a more fudgy consistency. It didn’t happen but the result was still wonderful.

 IMG_6859

Soft Pretzels

So good. Seriously. Other than the ginger cookies, this was the favorite thing I made over break. These were also surprisingly simple and especially when I am not the best for working with yeast. A simple recipe with simple ingredients. The flavor was still amazing. Not overly sweet or salty, perfect balance. These puppies are even better with side of caramelized onion mustard.

IMG_6846    IMG_6845

I did not get much of a break because of work and school reading. But getting to bake so much was the highlight of my “break.” My roommates too. Even though, we have all been overloading on crabs.

Leave a Reply

