Chili in the Mitten

I am not the biggest soup maker or eater by any means. My mom has a gift to magically throw things in a pot and come out with some of the best soups I have ever put in my mouth. It’s astounding. But guess what? My cooking skills repertoire does not involve these wonderful skills. Soup is the one thing when I cook I usually need a recipe by my side.

 IMG_6599

With cold weather just around the corner. I thought I would bless y’all with one of my favorite soup recipes. Good news: it’s super simple and easy to make! Even for me. This soup is adapted from one I found from the Food Network favorite, Giada.

I recently went to Michigan again to visit my best friend. Her boss, who is also neighbor, had the flu that week so I decided we should whip him up some soup and bring it over. I had only met him once before this but he is one of the sweetest people, as most Michiganders are!

White Chicken Chili:

2 tablespoons of olive oil

 1 medium onion

4 minced garlic cloves

2 pounds of chicken

1 teaspoon of salt

2 tablespoons of cumin

1 tablespoon of fennel seeds

1 tablespoon dried oregano

2 teaspoons chili powder

3 tablespoons

1 can of cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

1 package of frozen corn

4 cups of chicken stock

¼ teaspoon of red pepper flakes

Ground pepper to taste

Heat oil in a large saucepan. Sautee onions until translucent. Add garlic and stir for 30 seconds. Add the chicken and spices. Stir until the chicken is cooked through. Stir in flour. Add the beans, corn and chicken stock. Simmer this mixture for about an hour, just a little less. The liquid should have decreased to half the original size. Add red pepper flakes and simmer for another 10 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

 IMG_6596

Like any chili, it is great next to some cornbread and topped with sour cream or cheese. This chili is just a tad bit healthier than its beef counterpart. With all of the different spices in the soup and letting it simmer for an hour, this soup has such that hearty flavor all chili should have. All of the ingredients just work so well together. Since the flavors have been given time to meld, this soup tastes even better as leftovers.

One of the best feelings in the world to me is cozying up with a bowl of soup on a cold fall or winter day. Hopefully you’ll see what I mean about this soup one day soon!

IMG_6597

Leave a Reply

