Bringing Belgium to RVA

Some of you all may know this, some of you may not. But I am what most people would call obsessive over the small European country of Belgium. I studied abroad there on what is going on 2 years. The whole experience changed my life as should any study abroad experience should do to a person. This trip, believe it or not, actually heightened my fascination with food.

To my astonishment, there are two Belgian places in my lovely city of Richmond. I knew I loved it for some reason. Max’s, I have posted about before, only for their brunch. Although they boast a wonderful menu with Belgian fare, they also have some signature French and French Canadian dishes. Not a truly Belgian place. Brux’l Cafe, on the other hand, is pure authentic Belgian.

The interior isn’t as fancy as Max’s but the food makes up for it. They have the walls lined with beer glasses and pictures of all my favorite Belgian places. The owner always walks out to greet his customers, with the biggest smile on his face. Hospitality at its finest.

The food! Oh yum! I jumped for the standard Moules and Frites, mussels and fries, the most signature of Belgian dishes. The broth of the mussels of my particular choice was dosed with garlic and herbs. The mussels were so tender they almost all feel out of their shells. That’s how you know it’s good. They were some of the best mussels I have had. They were tender and juicy, and of course, covered in garlic.

IMG_9857

Not to mention, the fries are double fried and almost as good as the real thing from Belgium. They serve them with a delicious fry sauce, the Belgian way.

Did I tell you they serve my favorite beer off the tap? This was a hard thing to find even in Belgium. The beer is one of the first wheat beers, brewed since 1445 in Hoegaarden, Belgium. It’s namesake. This beer is light and crisp. The perfect thing on a hot summer afternoon.

IMG_9858

Needless to say, if you’re looking for authentic Belgian in Richmond, check out the place with t he Belgian flag as their awning!

PS: Their burger was also voted the best in Richmond. Don’t you worry, the burger queen is going back for more.

Leave a Reply

