Cheesy and Creamy

First off, let me apologize for being so MIA these last few months. This past Saturday, I graduated from VCU with a degree in Business specializing in Entrepreneurship. The last two semesters have been crazy nuts. These four years of school have been just the same. I am happy to be done and focus on things other than school, like this blog. My biggest lesson: everything happens for a reason.


Many of you may have tried the majesty that is Boursin cheese. Creamy cheese oozing flavors of garlic and herbs. If you haven’t, try it now. Or make this recipe. Either one.

My step-father was the first one to introduce to me this cheesy creamy delight. I was addicted from the start. It has all of my favorite flavors rolled into one. How couldn’t I like it. Even in Belgium, I took advantage. Partly because of the cut in price in Europe. Who am I kidding, I bought so many of my favorite cheeses, simply because they were SO cheap. Like Port Salut. Creamy and delicious!

But homemade?

IMG_0677

This, to my complete surprise, was one of the easiest things I may have ever made. It’s simply just cream cheese, butter, and herbs. What could be easier. Butter and cheese, what could be better. The homemade counter part is cheaper but I don’t know if I’d go as far as better. It is still stinking delicious. Did I mention cheaper?

But the lucky thing is this recipe is open to interpretation. Try it with crushed red pepper instead of herbs, or even sriracha. It’s really up to you. For my recipe, I used basil, Italian seasoning and a 21 spice blend from Trader Joe’s.

Ingredients:

8 oz. room temperature cream or Neufchatel cheese

1/2 – 1 cup room temperature butter

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

2 teaspoons herbs (add more to liking)

IMG_0669

Once all ingredients are placed in a bowl, stir to combine all ingredients. I say the different butter measurements based on your butter liking. I did 3/4 cup of butter for some extra deliciousness. Cover tightly and allow the mixture to sit overnight. I highly suggest a jar. This will help the flavors meld. Serve or mix into your favorite recipes. Good for two weeks.

IMG_0672    IMG_0678

Stir. Really, that’s all there is. How easy!

One of my favorite things with this Boursin is adding it to grilled cheese. Creamy and buttery. Mix with a melty favorite like cheddar or gouda. There are no words. The homemade Boursin adds a bit of creamy delight to anything you add it to.

IMG_0681

After making this recipe and seeing how easy it is, I may never buy the store bought version again. It’s easy and cheap. Oh yeah, and of course, the main ingredient is cheese. I hope you enjoy it just as much as I do.

IMG_0674

Leave a Reply

