Not Your Normal Meatball

    It’s been almost two months since I graduated. All my close friends have left for the summer. Three weeks ago, my boyfriend (first mention of any man being in my life on this blog) left for Army ROTC training. All my previous roommates moved out last week too, leaving me in a five bedroom house by myself for a month until the new girls move in. As a result, I have spent a ton of my time cooking, cleaning, learning and working. I even started growing my own herbs and built myself a garment rack.

One thing I have learned throughout my time “off” and through work is that the restaurant environment is definitely my forte. One day, I know I’ll have my own 🙂 I start serving this week. So cross your fingers!

Enough about me!

There’s one recipe that really got me through college. I would make it for myself or when I was having a big dinner with my friends. They’re a crowd pleaser and seemingly easy, especially for a bigger crowd. This recipe is chicken meatballs.

For some reason, meatballs seem very looming and complicated to most people. The process can be long depending on the amount of meatballs you are making. Otherwise, meatballs are a recipe not to be feared.

In actuality, the recipe can be used with whatever ground meat strikes your fancy. The easiness aspect is still there. Also, depending on the type of meat, these verge on being very cheap. The meatballs have a great amount of gusto and flavor depending on the meat and the seasonings you use.

Ingredients:

1 pound of ground chicken, beef or turkey

1/2 medium white onion

1/2 cup of bread crumbs

2 tablespoons of basil

1 tablespoon of sun-dried tomatoes

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 egg

Salt and pepper to taste

IMG_1449

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place all ingredients in a bowl and stir to combine.

IMG_1450

Once combined, form the meatballs by taking about a tablespoon of the mixture and rolling them in a ball shape. Make sure to spray your cookie sheet so the meatballs don’t stick. Repeat this step until all of the meat is gone.

IMG_1456

Bake for 15 minutes.

The final result is quite a versatile (and delicious) outcome. You can use these meatballs on top of your favorite pasta dish or just one their own, even throw them in a roll and call it a meatball sub. If it’s just you, like it’s just me, freeze half of the meatballs and thaw when you’re ready to finish the rest of the lot.

IMG_1465

Family dinner or just you? These are great either way.

Leave a Reply

