The Pearl-Wearing Pig

This Richmond spot is one that has been on my list for awhile, along with a million others. The Pig and Pearl serves up pork BBQ and other southern favorites, hence the name. My older brother, who moved here in December, is the fan of the Rocket Dog, something he enjoys for lunch on the regular.

To give some background, I have been living in Oregon Hill since I got to VCU, except for a two month stint in a freakishly expensive apartment. Anywho, I have been in this particular house in Oregon Hill for two years, going on my third. All the previous roommates moved out because they graduated and such. I may have graduated but I am still stinking around.

One of my new roommates is named Charlie, or Charles, as I like to call her. She is the one I am closet to in the house. We went on spring break together with two of our other sisters. She was a freshman who barely knew any of us, and just decided to tag along. But this trip would not in any way have been the same if she hadn’t come. In a matter of months, she’s become one of my best friends. She’s also always down to experiment with food with me and be my first guinea pig.

I had the pleasure of enjoying this meal with her and her dad. I now understand Charles a little more after meeting her dad. Her goof ball nature and the way she talks, everything makes more sense. It was great company!

But back to the food, we shared Fried Okra for the table. I had never had them before. I must admit they were a little heavy on the breading but they were still great. The sauce they were served with was awesome! It’s a bacon remoulade, basically an aioli. The flavor of it with the bacon and spices was amazing!

IMG_2522

I wasn’t necessarily in the mood for a burger but the toppings on the Southern Gentleman were just too appetizing to pass up! Pimento cheese, fried green tomatoes, bacon, bourbon and blackstrap molasses BBQ sauce. I mean, come on, how could I have not ordered that?

IMG_2524

The burger was delicious. The fried green tomatoes were probably the thickest I had ever tried. Unfortunately, the burger was a little light on the pimento cheese, but we all know how I feel about that. It was so messy I could not even put it down. And it was delicious! Not my favorite burger in Richmond but this dish got me excited to try the rest of their menu.

IMG_2527

The Pig and Pearl also boosts an astounding beer and liquor menu. The liquors all have an explanation, namely the whiskey and bourbon. Being the southern place they are, I can see why.

For drinks or food, The Pig and Pearl is a solid choice in Richmond for a twist on Southern food.

Leave a Reply

