Fall Roasting: Tomatoes

These last few weeks have been crazy! I am getting off of an 20 work day streak. I finally got a day off on Saturday. Why? The Union Cycliste Internationale bike race championships were in Richmond this year. The world came to Richmond that week.

It was amazing to think that of all the places they could have held the race, they chose to do it in the city I have called home for four years now. Not to mention, there were Belgians everywhere. Because they really really love cycling in Belgium. I made a few friends. It was an awesome experience to be a part of. Unfortunately, my life became all consumed by work for the last few weeks.

I have been on this roasting kick lately. It’s fall so somehow it seems fitting. Like my roasted red peppers, roasting different foods, besides chicken – see later posts – is quite easy. Ridiculously so that I’m surprised more people don’t do it on the regular. Roasting is easy and it also adds another depth of flavor to the ingredients in whatever you are making.

One of my favorites so far and one of the easiest to make is roasted tomatoes. I may start making it at the beginning of the week just to use throughout the week. Roasted tomatoes are a great and easy way to add some spunk to your meals. With pasta, on salads and most importantly, added to grilled cheeses.

IMG_4755

Ingredients:

2 cups cherry or grape tomatoes

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tablespoons assorted herbs to taste

Salt and pepper to taste

Set your oven to 400 degrees. Wash the tomatoes and chop all of them in half. Place cut tomatoes in a bowl. Add the olive oil and herbs. Stir and once finished, put the tomatoes on a cookie sheet. Roast them in the oven for about 12 minutes.

IMG_4759

Ever since I discovered the homemade Boursin cheese recipe, it’s been hard to find a time where my refrigerator didn’t have a jar of it sitting inside. It is legitimately the secret to a good grilled cheese. The combo of the creamy Boursin with the roasted tomato flavor and the melty havarti and pesto Gouda. The flavor is delicious.

IMG_4763

I suggest trying this recipe with other veggies like cauliflower, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, and definitely potatoes – the cook time will vary for each but the concept will be the same.

Like I said, roasting food is fun, easy, and not to mention, delicious! This is only part one of my three part roasting series. The others will explore some techniques not as simple as the above.

Leave a Reply

